River and Rowing Musuem

The River & Rowing Museum has been described by The Times newspaper as one of the best 50 Museum’s in the world. Located close to the river in Mill Meadows the award winning museum has three permanent galleries celebrating the of the sport of rowing, the River Thames and the town itself. There are also 5 temporary exhibition spaces which are regularly updated.

The building won the RIBA Building of the Year prize when opened in 1998 and was the first major commission in the UK for Sir David Chipperfield.

Containing many impressive exhibits including a full size steam launch, original John Piper artworks, historical and important rowing craft – including 2 that Sir Steve Redgrave won Olympic Gold in – an ancient log boat and fascinating interactive displays the River & Rowing Museum is a compelling attraction throughout the year.

Wind in the Willows

Written by Kenneth Grahame on the banks of the Thames in 1908, the much-loved EH Shepherd illustrations are brought to life with a narrated, walk-through tableaux; a firm favourite with children, parents and grandparents.

The Café

The Cafe at the River & Rowing Museum makes a beautiful location for a coffee, snack or meal, is child friendly, fully accessible and open to non-museum visitors.

Parking & Location

The River & Rowing Museum has its own car park for visitors, is a 10 minute walk from the town centre and a few minutes from the train station.

The museum can be found at the far end of Mill Meadows.

More information